CBRM seeking citizen volunteers for committees

March 17, 2021

The Council of the Cape Breton Regional Municipality requires the services of citizens who would be willing to serve as volunteer members on three committees.

The Accessibility Advisory Committee requires up to 8 members for a two-year term in accordance with the Accessibility Act of Nova Scotia.

The Diversity Committee is seeking one representative from the Gay, Lesbian & Transgendered Community, one representative from Cape Breton University and one representative from the Cape Breton-Victoria Centre for Education.

The Cape Breton Island Housing Authority requires three positions for a three-year term.

The terms of reference and roles for these committees can be found on the CBRM website:


Residents of the Cape Breton Regional Municipality who are interested in serving on these committees should forward a letter of application and their resume to the CBRM Clerk’s Office. Applicants should clearly indicate their interest in serving on the committee and outline all qualifications and experience and volunteer work in the related field.

Applicants for the Diversity Committee are asked to indicate the name of the sector they wish to represent.

Deadline for submissions is 4:30 p.m. on Friday, March 26, 2021 and should be directed to:

Deborah Campbell Ryan, Municipal Clerk
Cape Breton Regional Municipality
City Hall - 320 Esplanade, Suite 405
Sydney, NS B1P 7B9
By Fax: 902-564-0481
Or Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The applications will be considered at Nominating Committee/Council meetings that are open to the public.