Deadline approaching for citizen committee roles

January 19, 2021

SYDNEY, NS - The Council of the Cape Breton Regional Municipality requires the services of citizens willing to serve as volunteer members on Committees of Council or exterior Committees to which CBRM appoints citizens. 

Currently there are vacancies on the following committees:

Board of Police Commissioners

Three positions for a two-year term – with one from Central, North and East Divisions of CBRM. Successful applicants must consent to a criminal record background check as per Section 77 (2) of the NS Police Act Regulations.

Audit Committee 

One position for a two-year term. 

Diversity Committee 

CBRM Heritage Advisory Committee

Three to five positions for a two-year term. 

Cape Breton Regional Library Board

Two positions for a two-year term. 

Port of Sydney Development Corporation

Two individuals with Business and Commerce expertise; one individual licensed to practice law in the Province of Nova Scotia – both for a three-year term. 

The Terms of Reference/Roles for these Committees can be found on the CBRM website: https://cbrm.ns.ca/clerks-department.html 

Residents of the Cape Breton Regional Municipality who are interested in serving on these Committees should forward a letter of application and resume to the CBRM Clerk’s Office. The applications will be considered at Nominating Committee/Council meetings that are open to the public. 

Applicants should clearly indicate their interest in serving on the Committee and outline all qualifications and experience/volunteer work in the related field, by 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, January 21, 2021 to: 

Deborah Campbell Ryan,
Municipal ClerkCape Breton Regional Municipality
City Hall - 320 Esplanade, Suite 405
Sydney, NS B1P 7B9

Or Fax it to: 902-564-0481
Or Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.