Municipal district boundaries meetings

October 21, 2022

SYDNEY, NS - Public participation and input is wanted to help determine the number and boundaries of municipal council districts. A series of local meetings are taking place to offer members of the public the opportunity to provide recommendations. 

Every eighth year, all municipal councils in the province conduct a study of the number and boundaries of polling districts, examining their fairness and reasonableness, and the number of councillors to serve.  

CBRM is currently divided into 12 electoral districts and residents are represented by 13 elected officials: one mayor elected at large and 12 councillors elected by the residents of the district they serve. 

Open house-style public meetings are scheduled invite the meaningful participation of interested CBRM residents to explore polling district scenarios through interactive displays.  A presentation will be followed by a session in which all attendees will be invited to make comments and ask questions.

Upon conclusion, participants will be encouraged to post final comments on maps and vote to select the polling district boundary scenario they prefer. 

Residents are encouraged to take the online survey at www.cbrmgovernance.com

Monday, October 24, 2022         
12:30 - 4:00 pm  Louisbourg Volunteer Fire Hall 
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm  Miners Forum - Community Room, Glace Bay 

Tuesday, October 25, 2022         
12:30 - 4:00 pm  Boisdale Fire Hall 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Sydney Mines Fireman’s Club     

Wednesday, October 26, 2022         
12:30 - 4:00 pm  Big Pond Fire Hall 
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm  Centre 200, Sydney